Ask the Author: Lesa Mckee

Dear friends,

For Ask the Author this month, I’m very happy to have with us Ms. Lesa Mckee.

Lesa grew up at her Grandmother’s knee, listening to the French folk-tales her animated Grandma Ida shared. A love of stories was born and her imagination took off!

She’s now living her dream as a Christian Indie writer of feel-good fiction, including a short story series of far-out space cats, titled ‘Operation Space Cats’. These purrific feline adventures are filled with faith, friendship & fun!

Krisna: It’s a pleasure to have you with us, Lesa. *shakes hands* 

Lesa: Thanks, Krisna! I’m very happy to be here.

Krisna: Every author has something inside that makes them take the pen (or laptop) and start giving life to the stories in their minds. Why do you write? 

LesaFor me, writing is an escape. At times it’s relaxing while other times I’m on the edge of my seat bursting with excitement, and sometimes I’m filled with laughter. I enjoy spending time in other worlds I’ve created.

Krisna: It’s so wonderful to live the lives of our characters while we write them, isn’t it? I confess, it’s one of the reasons I write too. What is the hardest thing about writing? 

Lesa: The hardest thing about writing for me is I have lots of wrist & hand pain.  I use dragon speech recognition software, but I find writing by ‘talking’ out a story is very hindering to the flow, and it slows me down a lot. Still, I’m grateful to be able to continue my writing, no matter how I have to do it. Also, at 46 I’m starting out pretty late in life, but my passion for writing is what counts!

Krisna: I’m so sorry to hear about your wrists and hands, Lesa. But I really admire your dedication and passion for writing. You’re absolutely right. That is what really counts!

 What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Lesa: Three things- And these are things I’ve done.

1) I’d tell them to get connected. Other writers are your best friends. No one can relate to your writing, and your writing journey more than your fellow writers. Join writing groups on social media like facebook and goodreads. Admit you’re a newbie and ask for advice.

2) Write, but don’t write aimlessly. Invest in some good books on writing, take a seminar, and follow good blogs on writing. You have the desire to write, now do all you can to learn your craft. All workman must study their craft to show themselves approved.

3) Join a critique group, at least one. You want to get as many eyes on your work as possible. Make sure to critique others too. This is a one of the best ways to learn how to write. Really, it works.

Krisna: Thanks a lot for those fantastic points, Lesa. You’re right. I’ve found a lot of motivation and support from my author friends in my critique group. One of the mistakes that many newbies make is to try to do it all alone. But honest feedback and encouragement from other writers really helps in making our story much better. And in the end, we want to give a high-quality gripping novel to our readers.

So speaking of feedback, What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

Lesa: Good reviews- Love ‘em. Bad reviews- Hate ‘em.:)

Krisna: *laughs*

Lesa: But really, what’s my take on them? Either appreciate them, learn from them, or ignore them … and keep writing!

Krisna:  That’s really good advice. Instead of getting demotivated by negative reviews, we take an honest look at our novel. If the feedback of the reviewer is true, we learn from it and change. If it’s not, we ignore and keep writing.

*glances at clock* We have time for one last question. I really loved the stories in your book Operation Space Cats, The Rescue Mission. What’s the tagline of your story?

Lesa: My tag-line is on the back cover, placed just before the blurb. ‘Furry crew to the rescue’.

Krisna: Ha ha! I love the image it brings to my mind. Thank you so much for being with us today, Lesa, and for your insights and tips. I wish you all the very best in your writing career.

Lesa: It was my pleasure, Krisna!

operation-space-cats_kindle-jpg-book-one-official-cover-design

CONNECT WITH LESA MCKEE:

lesas-fb-pic

You can connect with Lesa through her website, blog, Facebook, Twitter, Amazon and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

