Ask the Author: Lynn Miller

Hello Friends,

For this month’s Ask the Author post, we have with us Lynn Miller, author of The Sons of Rebellion.

lynn-millerLynn lives in Johannesburg, South Africa. Her love for storytelling started before she was able read or write but she only found the time to pursue this lifelong passion once she sold her software business. Her magical tales weave the blurred grey between good and evil with love, family and friendship.

The Sons of Rebellion, her debut series, tells the story of a family of fallen angels and their struggles balancing a personal and professional life with battling demons.

 

Krisna – Welcome, Lynn! It’s great to have you with us today.

Lynn: Thank you, Krisna. It’s my pleasure 🙂

Krisna: It’s really great that your love for storytelling started at such an young age. What is the easiest thing about writing?

Lynn: Developing the characters and allowing them to interact with each other. Dialogue and Character Dynamics are favorite parts of writing. It’s the part that comes easiest to me. How much do they share with one another? Who gets along with who? I am fascinated by how that just falls into place. Even if I didn’t plan with a particular dynamic in mind, I will go still go with it. On-Page chemistry is favorite tool.

Krisna – What has been the toughest criticism you’ve received?

Lynn – “Cut the first two chapters. It only gets interesting from chapter 3.” Seriously. I spent so much time tweaking those first chapters, it was a bitter pill to swallow. The person then went on to explain why and how and it turned out to be the best piece of advice I’ve received.

Krisna – Ha ha! I had a similar experience with my novel. Had to cut my prologue which was one of my favorite chapters because it wasn’t too relevant to the plot of book 1. But it’s more critical to book 2, so it’s definitely getting included there 🙂 

Without spoilers, is there any part you regret writing but is integral to the plot?

Lynn – There’s a death pretty early on in the story. I always knew that character would die, and I knew why. It was only once I started writing the scene that included them that I regretted not having the opportunity to dig deeper and find their story.

Krisna – I’ve found that writing the death of a character is always a tough thing to do especially if he/she is close to the MC. As the creator of that character, we’re more involved and know their potential. Speaking of main characters, do you prefer a single main character or an ensemble team?

Lynn – Ensemble. Always ensemble. I use three to four point of view characters per book but over the course of the series there is no real main character. Each character showed up because they are integral to the story. I just need to figure out why?

Krisna – Wow! Three to four POV’s is a tricky thing to write, with each character having a unique voice and characteristics.

*regretfully glances at clock* We have time for one last question. Writing is always a personal experience and each writer has ways that work best for them. Which do you prefer? Writing alone or in public?

Lynn – I stick my headphones in and pretend I’m alone. Most of the time, though, I’m interrupted because someone has “something very important” to tell me. In an ideal world, I would spend a lot more time at my favorite coffee shop. The waiters there know me and how I like my mocha. They won’t interrupt me to ask if I want a refill. And they’ll bring out an extension if there are no seats near a plug point. Sadly, it’s impractical to do that more than once a week.

Krisna: LOL! If only we could have more than 24 hours in a day… Thank you so much, Lynn, for stopping by. I really appreciate the time you’ve taken to answer all my questions.

Lynn: It was my pleasure!

CONNECT WITH LYNN MILLER:

You can connect with Lynn Miller through her website and Twitter.

Check out her debut novel, The Witch’s Pride (Sons of Rebellion, Book 1)The Witch’s Pride tells Jet and Laken’s Story.

Fallen Angel Jet has two weeks to find a witch or lose the most important weapon in the fight against The Devil. The powers that be decided eons ago that Jet will marry her and start a new generation of magic. Instead, he falls for a woman from his past: Laken – a fellow ER doctor and single mom with secrets of her own. Falling for her new boss seems masochistic, and that is before she learns about Jet’s part in her family’s secret and troubled history.

 

 

Leave a Reply

