Ask the Author: S M Pace

Welcome Dear Friends,

For this month’s “Ask the Author” interview, I’ve the pleasure of having with us S M. Pace.

Blog Pic

S M. Pace lives in the wilds of Central Virginia, with her husband (bear), son (bunny) and a pond full of fish (sometimes). When she’s not writing, she loves crafts, sewing and hiking.

Here are a few snippets of our conversation:

Krisna: Do you let the book stew – leave it for a month and then come back to it to edit?

S M Pace: I usually let a novel rest, anywhere from a week to a month, depending on what my schedule looks like before I start revision. Longer is better, because it puts me in a better mindset to start making changes, however sometimes I’m really itching to dive into that revision.

Krisna: The same with me. I find that reading my drafts after a break gives me a new perspective that’s very useful to find plot holes and character inconsistencies. 

How are you publishing this book and why? (*e.g. Indie, traditional or both)
S M Pace: Cry of the Hawk, book 3 in the Threads of Magic series, will be self-published. It will be the third book I’ve self-published, and hopefully the best. I’ve learned a lot since book 1, about both self-publishing and writing.

Krisna: Do you think that the cover plays an important part in the buying process?

S M Pace: I absolutely do. Having my cover designed by someone else is something I plan into my budget for each self-published novel, because I know that’s one thing worth spending the money on.

A good cover catches a reader’s interest, and a bad cover makes them reluctant.  Especially in this day and age, when self-publishing is still side-eyed, and readers are growing more wary, an amateur looking cover tends to make readers assume the writing is equally amateur.  A completely unfair assumption, I feel compelled to add, because I’ve read and fallen in love with plenty of novels with lackluster covers.  But as long as people continue to judge a book by its cover, I’ll continue to make sure my covers looks as good as possible.

Krisna: I totally agree! I feel the cover is also part of the “hook” that catches the attention of the reader and makes him want to read the first chapter. What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

S M Pace: I don’t read reviews. Good or bad, I don’t feel reviews are helpful for me as a writer. A person reviews a novel with a very different mindset than someone giving a critique.  Reviews tend to be more personal, and focus very specifically on the novel as written.  There might be a few kernels I could pull out and apply to future novels, but probably not many.  Reviewers tend to pour a lot of emotion into reviews, a lot of complaints about wasting time and money.  That doesn’t help me improve my work at all.

Krisna: What do you think of “trailers” for books, and do you have a trailer/will you create one for your own work?

S M Pace: I love book trailers. I would love to have one for the Threads series, but I don’t have the skill to make one myself, and I definitely can’t justify that expense. If I ever start making that much, I would totally have one made.

Krisna: Thank you so much for taking the time to be with us and answering our questions on the writing process. I wish you all the best in your writing career.

 CONNECT WITH S M. PACE

You can connect to S M. Pace through her WebsiteTwitter. Don’t forget to check out her books Shadow of the Wolf and Wings of the Butterfly.

Leave a Reply

